A Letter From an RDS Runner

RDS Runners is an official charity partner of the 2012 Air Force Marathon & Half Marathon, taking place on September 15. We’ve had a great response from interested runners wanting to join the team and run for Down syndrome research, and we now have over 20 RDS Runners on the team for the Air Force Marathon & Half Marathon.

We’d like to share the thoughts of Scott Klein, who along with his daughter Allison are just two of the RDS Runners participating in the Air Force Marathon:

“Hi,

My  name is Scott Klein, and my daughter Allison and I would like to run the Air Force Half Marathon on Sept 15.  I have run 14 marathons in the past, but this will be my daughters’ first half.  She is 19 and will be a Sophomore at Miami University this fall, so Dayton is a great meeting place for us….I live up by Cleveland.

I chose your charity, as my wife has a degree in MSPH Special Education from Bowling Green State University.  She was a Special Education teacher for many years, before staying home to raise the kids….we now do respite care in our home for kids and young adults with mental challenges, and being around that population has been a big part of our kids’ growing up….Several of our clients have become like family members to us.

I can’t think of a better situation for my daughter and I to run a race together, than with the Down Syndrome Research Team….Please let us know how we can get involved and be a part of your team….

THANK YOU”

Thank you Scott and the rest of our RDS Runners who are Running for Research!

Leave a Reply

